Registration As An Offender in Kansas
The Offender Registry in Kansas includes information about people convicted or adjudicated of sex crimes, drug crimes and other types of violent crimes.
In some situations, people who have been arrested and charged with sex crimes in Kansas may face the requirement to register as an offender. The state’s registration program includes not only sex offenders but people involved in some other types of violent crimes and drug crimes as well. Learning how this program works can be important for anyone who is accused of such a crime.
When did offender registration begin?
Kansas first passed a law requiring the registration of certain individuals in 1993. The State of Kansas indicates that this law has been amended many times since then. The original law required registration for person convicted of two or more violent crimes. Modifications to the law have changed registration requirements to cover persons convicted of only one crime. Other changes pertain to the timing of registration, what details are required, how frequently registrations must be updated, whether or not a registration is publicly visible, and more.
Who is currently required to register?
According to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation, an adult who is convicted or adjudicated of select crimes can be forced to register. Adjudicated juveniles may also be required to register as an offender for certain violent crimes. This requirement, however, can be waived at the court’s discretion.
Any person who is required to participate in an offender registration program in another state who moves to Kansas may be required to register in Kansas as well.
How long might a person need to register for?
The length of time that a person may need to register for can depend upon the exact charge for which they are convicted. Duration is also impacted by the presence of any previous convictions.
Registration periods for adults convicted of first offenses are generally 25 or 15 years but may vary due to different laws. The longer registration period applies to charges like sexual exploitation of a minor between the age of 14 and 17, aggravated sexual battery, or criminal sodomy with a 16- or 17-year-old or with an animal. Charges like sexual battery or adultery with a minor can result in the 15-year registration period.
Adults who are convicted for a second time can be required to register as offenders for the rest of their lives.
Are offenders banned from living or working in certain areas?
Kansas does not place any restrictions on where registered offenders may live or work as part of its offender registration programs. However, for some people, the terms of probation or parole may include such provisions.
What help is available?
Defendants accused of sex crimes should always remember that legal help is available. Contacting an experienced attorney promptly is the best way to get the facts about all potential penalties and the criminal defense process overall.
If You Are An Offender Needing Legal Guidance, Contact An Experienced Attorney.
To schedule a free initial consultation with my office, please call me at 913-826-6229. You can also contact me online. All communications remain confidential. My firm accepts credit cards.